The Shooters Bench Inc

1019 Little Deer Creek Rd.
P.O. Box 93
Russellton, PA.15076
E -mail: info@theshootersbench.com 724.265.9991

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Find the answers to some common shop questions and topics.
The information is not intended as legal advice or a restatement of law. For any particular situation, a licensed local attorney must be consulted for an accurate interpretation. YOU MUST ABIDE WITH ALL LAWS: STATE, FEDERAL AND LOCAL.

What do I need to do to purchase a firearm?
To purchase a long gun you must be 18 years old, have a valid state ID with current address and be able to pass the background check (PIC - Pennsylvania Instant Check)
To purchase a handgun you must be 21 years old, have a valid PA ID with current address and be able to pass the background check (PIC - Pennsylvania Instant Check). You will need to know your employer address for the handgun form.
There is no waiting period for long guns or handguns.
Denied PIC calls cost $25.00. Calls put into research or delayed cost $25.00, if approved this cost is put towards your final cost of firearm.

Personal Transfers
You are not required to transfer long guns in PA providing the individual is not
prohibited. We do suggest you keep a personal record of the transfer.
To transfer a handgun you must be 21 years old, both parties must have a valid PA ID with current address and transferee must be able to pass the background check (PIC - Pennsylvania Instant Check). You will need to know your employer address for the handgun form. If transferee/buyer can not pass background check the transferor/seller must pass background check to get firearm back. Personal transfers cost $25.00 each. Denied PIC calls cost $25.00. Calls put into research or delayed cost $25.00.
Transfers between spouses or to transfers between a parent and child or to transfers between grandparent and grandchild do not require a dealer.
For transfers of firearms of deceased individuals you must be the power of attorney over the estate and have death certificate available

Internet Purchases
Internet transfer fee is $35.00 each firearm.
Transfers will be to purchaser named only. ( your friend, neighbor, family member can not pick up your firearm for you)
Shipping a firearm to us:
We only accept firearms from valid FFL dealers. No C&R licenses will be accepted. We will not accept shipments from individuals or invalid FFL's. If you purchased from an individual they must send the purchase from a valid FFL dealer. Provide us with your Name, Phone number, Gun description, the FFL dealer information it is coming from (FFL Name, Phone, Fax, Email, Address). Provide the shipping FFL with our contact information so we may provide them with our FFL information. Make sure Sender includes your contact information in shipment.

Some Online dealers may have our FFL information already ( Buds Guns, Cheaper than Dirt...) This will streamline the process as you can pick us from there destination FFL list. You must still let us know your Name, Phone number, Gun description and where it is coming from.

We do not provide individuals with our FFL certificate or number.

Can you ship a firearm for me?
We only ship firearms to valid FFL dealers. We will not ship to individuals or invalid FFL's. Provide us with the FFL dealer information it is shipping to (FFL Name, Phone, Fax, Email, Address). Provide the FFL recieving the shipment with our contact information so we may provide them with our FFL information.

Do not wrap your firearm. We must check serial number.

Cost to ship:
Long Guns Each: $35.00 handling fee + shipping cost (in most cases $30)
Handguns Each: $35.00 handling fee + shipping cost (in most cases $20)
Typically some insurance is included ( $500 ). Extra insurance may be purchased at your discretion.

We do not provide individuals with our FFL certificate or number.

Do you buy or trade guns?
Yes. We must see the actual firearm to determine the value. If you are bringing in a firearm it must be unloaded. Please call ahead to see if someone will be there to look at your item. See schedule below - typically this schedule is accurate but please call to confirm
Mon: 10am to 5:30pm
Tue: 10am to 8pm
Wed: 10am to 8pm
Thur: 10am to 1pm
Fri: 10am to 5:30pm
Sat: 10am to 4pm

Returns
ALL FIREARM AND AMMO SALES ARE FINAL.
All other returns are 30 day and must have original receipt and original packaging. If credit purchase returns will only be issued back to originating credit card. If cash purchase, return will be issued back in cash.

Is there a waiting period to purchase a gun?
There is no waiting period in PA.

Do you have a Layaway?
Yes. We offer a 30 day layaway. Initial deposit of 10% on instock items, 25% on special order items. Layaway deposits are NON refundable. 25% restocking fee on cancelled special orders.

Do you offer consignment?
Yes. If we feel your gun will be of interest to our customers you may be able to place it on consignment. The store will deduct 13% or $50 whichever is greater off the selling price from the final sale. If you choose to take your firearm out of consignment you must pass the background check, cost is $8.00 per item.

Can I get a carry permit there?
No. You must see your local sherriff office for a carry permit. Also see our useful links page.

Do you have a shooting range?
No.

Are you a class 3 dealer?
No.

 

Other Help

Find answers on our links page.
A list of sites to help you find answers to your questions. Click here.

give us a call

Can't find the answer here.
Call The Shooters Bench at 724.265.9991